Supplies: Ice on the Wings

Ice cased Adelie penguins after a blizzard at Cape Denison / photograph by Frank Hurley
From State Library of New South Wales flickr commons collection

There’s a few different places where a project has been all lined up ready to go…and someone went and iced the wings.

Back in the 1990s, I was all ready to launch a Pagan Writer project. I raised the subject on a listserv. Suddenly, the person running the list stopped me. “No no no… we don’t want this to be an ego project like that one with that BNP that you don’t even really know…”

He never explained what made him think a directory of markets for Pagans would be an ego project, especially when headed by a (still) unknown like myself. But he did it again, with every other project raised. “No no, you need to do it this way…” notably when it came to follow up, he was never available.

Not the same guy but I encountered this situation rather a lot when I first started pitching the Divorcing a Real Witch book. Every few people – usually other Pagans – would wrinkle their noses and say, “Oh, that is so niche.” Notably it is only a small percentage of Pagans that bring up offense at the title… not because the offense is real, but because they think finding offense makes them somehow insightful.

What pushed me forward with the book was that the non-Pagans I told about the book got excited about it. “Oh, yes… we want that ourselves! That’s really interesting!”

I will be writing thank you notes for people that have helped me push this book along. Because yay.

