Supplies: 10 Things I’d Like to Know More About

2013 Minnesota State Fair
For some reason I actually do know an absurdly large number of fire dancers and swallowers. (this, from MN State fair, is not one that I know personally.)

1. Podcasting
I have a very specific podcast project in mind. I have gone on a grand total of one podcast, ever.
2. Zines
I LOVE zines. LOVE them. I have yet to work up the nerve to make one.
3. Coding html and CSS
this is more of a should than a want-to
4. Photography
I’ve made great progress over the years. This year I have started an actual themed project: bulletin boards. I am snapping pictures of bulletin boards and taking artist’s dates at places that have lots of bulletin boards.
5. Poetry
This is a weird/surprise one for me. I joined a poetry group expecting to be as bored as I usually am by poets. Instead I really loved it – I genuinely enjoy the people in my poetry group. But I struggle to fill in my poetry/lit background. I never was able to get interested in contemporary poetry. I like the rhymes of Tennyson and Yeats.
6. Blues Music
I have made a few attempts via Google Play but so far I am not doing well at finding the stuff that really grabs me.
7. Strength Training
I’ve been following Health at Every SIze since 2010. I am down around 50 pounds (give/take – it’s been SLOW, with a slight yo yo last year because of surgery.) Now that I have mindful eating down and a strong exercise routine established I need to start doing more weight-bearing exercise. I am blessed in the absence of arthritis or other joint pain.
8 Yoga/a stretch routine
Pinched nerve last year.
9. A fresh approach to meditation.
I may take a class. I’m losing progress because I’ve been bored with what I’m doing.
10. Rosicrucianism/other Ceremonial Magick.
It’s been a logical next step for a very long while.

2 thoughts on “Supplies: 10 Things I’d Like to Know More About”

  1. Blues really can’t be experienced through recordings. If you really want to experience it, you need to take it in live. I’m sure there’s a blues club somewhere near you. It doesn’t need to be a classy joint…in fact, the less so the better.

  2. There used to be this place in Kasota, MN – someone had converted an old church to a blues bar. In college I used to drive out there with my ex and some other friends. Some of the most fun memories of college happened at that bar. Hoping I can find more of those around here!

Comments are closed.