Money Drunk Money Sober: Things I Would Like to Be

For this time period, I am working through Julia Cameron and Mark Bryan’s book Money Drunk, Money Sober before I work through the Prosperous Heart. The following blog entries are in response to prompts and experiences from the book. I see this as an extension of my Artist’s Way work. Some of my entries are jarring and highly personal – any program of sobriety and self-improvement demands admitting dysfunction both personally and in family, and it also calls to admit some painful truths. While not everything I work on appears here, a number of realities do. I have a genuine body of work thanks to my work on the Artist’s Way program, and I can’t ignore the changes the continual commitment has brought about. Because of that, I also can’t ignore what going further into the harder aspects of the program – like facing money issues – has the potential to improve.

  • Happy
  • Healthy
  • Unworried
  • Fit
  • A Conjure Woman
  • a certified herbalist
  • Prepared for emergencies
  • Comfortable
  • Well-dressed
  • Fun
  • Funny
  • a bellydance teacher
  • a lover AND a fighter
  • Well educated
  • As lopsidedly rounded as I damn well please. (My mother claimed she forced me through music stuff I openly did not enjoy because she wanted me to be “well rounded.” That’s bullshit, and  Gods only know what the actual intent was – it was certainly not for my improvement, but very likely for her social climbing. Sadly, until I suss out the actual intent, she would still use the excuse/lie/bullshit statement of “well rounded.”)
  • Free
  • a student of Aikido
  • a member of the library board
  • Successful in a way that has meaning to me – so not the white picket fence 2.5 kids crap, something that is real to me, and that genuinely brings me joy

 

 

