Money Drunk Money Sober: 5 Other Lives

For this time period, I am working through Julia Cameron and Mark Bryan’s book Money Drunk, Money Sober before I work through the Prosperous Heart. The following blog entries are in response to prompts and experiences from the book. I see this as an extension of my Artist’s Way work. Some of my entries are jarring and highly personal – any program of sobriety and self-improvement demands admitting dysfunction both personally and in family, and it also calls to admit some painful truths. While not everything I work on appears here, a number of realities do. I have a genuine body of work thanks to my work on the Artist’s Way program, and I can’t ignore the changes the continual commitment has brought about. Because of that, I also can’t ignore what going further into the harder aspects of the program – like facing money issues – has the potential to improve.

I am happy with what I’m doing – writing and blogging full time. Even so, I’m an exploratory sort.

I’ve done this exercise before, but it bears re-exploration. 5 lives I would gladly consider:

  1. Conjure Woman. I’m sort of headed that way at least in my pursuit of personal knowledge.
  2. Bellydancer – or bellydance instructor.
  3. Poet, i.e. the performance style poet
  4. Playwright – but I want to be someone who DOESN’T have temper tantrums right before the curtain drop. I really got tired of seeing that shit while I was growing up. If you can’t manage stress, don’t manage a show.
  5. Podcaster. I just want to try it, to see how I do. They are all the rage. Of course, my concentration style doesn’t allow me to multi-task well and I rarely have time to listen to podcasts, so there’s that catch to figure out. I tried listening to them on the treadmill, but that just gets way too boring – I need upbeat music to work out to, period.
