Money Drunk Money Sober: 10 Ways I am stingy

For this time period, I am working through Julia Cameron and Mark Bryan’s book Money Drunk, Money Sober before I work through the Prosperous Heart. The following blog entries are in response to prompts and experiences from the book. I see this as an extension of my Artist’s Way work. Some of my entries are jarring and highly personal – any program of sobriety and self-improvement demands admitting dysfunction both personally and in family, and it also calls to admit some painful truths. While not everything I work on appears here, a number of realities do. I have a genuine body of work thanks to my work on the Artist’s Way program, and I can’t ignore the changes the continual commitment has brought about. Because of that, I also can’t ignore what going further into the harder aspects of the program – like facing money issues – has the potential to improve.

Hedge Hog - share the hedge 2012

“It’s the most unhappy people who most fear change.
– Mignon Mclaughlin, The Second Neurotic’s Notebook (1966)

  1. I’ll save this beautiful crafting tool I bought for later.
  2. Not until after I have mountainous pile of x done.
  3. I don’t want to even start to create this until I have this tool – but I’ll put off buying that tool until x.
  4. I can do this. I don’t need to ask for help.
  5. I have the information that would likely help that person. But that person will probably just resent any advice as an intrusion.
  6. I won’t wear this beautiful clothing piece until the exact right occasion – even if it has to wait ten years.
  7. I don’t have time to [see a friend, give myself a weekly facial and leg shave, etc.]
  8. I won’t book that massage. It’s too expensive, even if it would save me a great deal of money in allergy medication if I went regularly. [The curse of the chatty masseuse that seems to follow me, however, I view as a legitimate problem.]
  9. Yes to your massive project that marginally benefits me if not at all, and yes to letting it take away from my capacity to work on my own projects.
  10. To myself: You need to just get over this. {If it’s something I’m not getting past, then getting over it will take more work than being dismissive with myself.}

 

