Money Drunk Money Sober: My very first job

For this current time period, I am working through Julia Cameron and Mark Bryan’s book Money Drunk, Money Sober before I work through the Prosperous Heart. The following blog entries are in response to prompts and experiences from the book. I see this as an extension of my Artist’s Way work. Some of my entries are jarring and highly personal – any program of sobriety and self-improvement demands admitting dysfunction both personally and in family, and it also calls to admit some painful truths. While not everything I work on appears here, a number of realities do. I have a genuine body of work thanks to my work on the Artist’s Way program, and I can’t ignore the changes the continual commitment has brought about. Because of that, I also can’t ignore what going further into the harder aspects of the program – like facing money issues – has the potential to improve.

 

File:Ira Aldridge as Aaron in Titus Andronicus.jpg

My first job was working Friday nights at a frame store downtown. Both my mother and my sister had worked there briefly.  I was not really offered any training, and I think it was just assumed that I would know how to do the job that my mother and sister had. I did not.

The job lasted about a month. I socked back about half for college, but a lot of the money got sucked up because I had to pay for band camp myself every year – I didn’t want to go to band camp or play in band, so not only did I get to do something I did not enjoy at all, I got to resent the way money I had meant for something I did want – college – got used for something I hated and that has not served me in any way in my adult life. So the money earned from that disastrous job where I was expected to know things without training? Band camp.

Not an illustrious start to my working career.

