Sound of Paper: 5 Steps to Making My Home More Serene

This is part of my work in the Julia Cameron Artist’s Way series. The work this time is from the book the Sound of Paper. The responses are self-examinations and assessments based on work through a daily series of exercises. While I do keep some material offline as it can be very personal and jarring, I often opt to be fairly open about my experiences, both positive and negative.

Kauai

5 Small things I can do to add serenity to my working environment:

  1. Get those baskets mounted in the bathroom. An uncluttered sink will please me greatly.
  2. Station declutter. Pick one small area of my home – a table, a cabinet, whatever, and declutter that on a daily basis. For multi-clutter sections, just pick one TASK of declutter, like removing boxes.
  3. Download some more classical music and compose mixes based on the type of work I’m doing.
  4. Set timers to go off and remind me to take stretch breaks.
  5. Mastering getting up earlier now – so next, incorporating yoga into that time, too.
