Sound of Paper: 10 things I can do to care for my inner artist

This is part of my work in the Julia Cameron Artist’s Way series. The work this time is from the book the Sound of Paper. The responses are self-examinations and assessments based on work through a daily series of exercises. While I do keep some material offline as it can be very personal and jarring, I often opt to be fairly open about my experiences, both positive and negative.

From Minneapolis Rose Garden

  1. Block out time on my calendar to make sure I do my weekly skin and hair care booster routine.
  2. Go for a walk every day. EVERY day.
  3. Prepare meals ahead – it ensures eating properly and alleviates the stress of figuring it out when my mind is elsewhere.
  4. Give myself the proper tools to do my job. Sure, makeshift stuff is creative and cute, but having the right tool relieves stress.
  5. Bookend the day with journaling. Morning pages in the morning and mind-mapping at night.
  6. Time-outs matter: meditation, walks, research, and schedule deviations help a project, they don’t hurt it.
  7. Reserve emotionally distressing things for situations where the distress is necessary. So movies that are triggering rather than cathartic, interacting with an upsetting person when you don’t have to, etc. – just set it aside.
  8. One small thing: that coffee maker on a timer is awesome.
  9. Keep taking your daily dose of yerba matte. It helps a lot with the lateral anxiety issues.
  10. Stop to appreciate the movement of the seasons. You skip that a lot, and you really do need it. Introduce One Small Thing to your creative process in magic and ritual work, too.
1 thought on “Sound of Paper: 10 things I can do to care for my inner artist”

Comments are closed.