Sound of Paper: 5 Ways I have been courageous for my art

This is part of my work in the Julia Cameron Artist’s Way series. The work this time is from the book the Sound of Paper. The responses are self-examinations and assessments based on work through a daily series of exercises. While I do keep some material offline as it can be very personal and jarring, I often opt to be fairly open about my experiences, both positive and negative.

051710 070  - Goth Prom
I took a significant risk when I did this.
  1. I’ve stayed on the artist’s way path for four years – I’ve even started teaching workshops for magical people based on Julia Cameron’s concepts.
  2. I’ve started putting more pictures of myself up on Fat Chic. That’s risky – female social violence is nasty when you write for fashion, and the more marginalized your populous, the more nasty the feedback can get.
  3. I’m braving interacting with the BBC RIGHT NOW to make something happen for the fan organization that I lead.
  4. I’ve had the brass boobage (=cajones) to call myself a leader, in public, while female. More than once.
  5. The book I’m writing? 8 years of research, a big, miserable part of my 20s, and I’m GOING TO PUBLISH IT.

Lagniappe: Publishing the Spellcasting Picture Book took some nerve, too. Especially since it was either really well received or viewed with outright horror. It’s even gotten a one star review from someone who concluded I have “merely dabbled with magic.” *snort*

