Sound of Paper: 10 adventures I’d like to have

This is part of my work in the Julia Cameron Artist’s Way series. The work this time is from the book the Sound of Paper. The responses are self-examinations and assessments based on work through a daily series of exercises. While I do keep some material offline as it can be very personal and jarring, I often opt to be fairly open about my experiences, both positive and negative.

If my ego would allow it, I would:
In-flight shots

  1. speak up when I feel like I’m trapped in another person’s conversational narcissism/self-absorbing loop, especially when that person says something rude to me as part of it. (I would drop the “this is what I do because I am high-minded and well-mannered and appropriately defend myself.)
  2. put up more pictures of myself on Fat Chic blog. I just got skipped over for a major opportunity because I don’t show myself or talk about myself enough on there.
  3. quit with trying to reuse EVERYTHING. Honestly, recycling isn’t optimal, but my office is out of control. I can be environmentally positive without martyring my workspace.
  4. try more sewing.
  5. get out the t-shirts and make messes trying out different forms of surgery on them.
  6. try out a new hangout/event.
  7. be more honest with my friends about how much I’m not enjoying some of the constant overtly political conversations where speech gets rapid and voices get loud, or any of the other ones that are leaving me physically and emotionally tired. Time with friends should be fun, not an energy suck. Working on a non-confrontational, not-mean way to say “I get you care about this, but it’s just not my gig right now.”
  8. quit with the candlemaking. Honestly, it just makes a big mess and no one’s assigning me brownie points for recycling paraffin.
  9. worry less about having everything “done.”
  10. spend some time mastering those magic tricks…
2 thoughts on “Sound of Paper: 10 adventures I’d like to have”

  1. I definitely need to try out some new hangouts and events. I feel like I’ve gotten stuck in a rut with where my boyfriend and I go on dates, where I meet up with my friends for drinks, etc. Time to step out of that rut!

  2. Go for it! I’ve found that just making it a point to do something new is a little hard at first – I resist – but then it becomes this awesome thing to look for even small new experiences!

Comments are closed.