Sound of Paper: 10 adventures I’d like to have

This is part of my work in the Julia Cameron Artist’s Way series. The work this time is from the book the Sound of Paper. The responses are self-examinations and assessments based on work through a daily series of exercises. While I do keep some material offline as it can be very personal and jarring, I often opt to be fairly open about my experiences, both positive and negative.

Burning Man 2011: The Man Burns!

I swear I’m getting less adventurous, and that’s got to be a bad thing, right? Or maybe I’m being inappropriately self-critical.
The adventures I’d like to have at the moment are:

  1. Taking that knife class at Kitchen Window. I really want to learn how to cut things properly.
  2. Starting a corporation – I’ve had some major visions of late. It’s major, and terrifying.
  3. Trying out a water slide. I have never done that.
  4. As much as I hate camping, I do actually want to camp under the stars in a desert, ONCE. If it raises the water table, well, at least I’ll be expecting it. I acknowledge between scorpions in shoes and my own negligible survival skills, this could really suck.
  5. I actually regret never going to Burning Man when friends invited me in my twenties. I’d love to try it now, even if I am one of the freaks in an RV.
  6. Actually, I’ve never camped in an RV. I don’t want to own one – the insurance plus gas would be a nightmare – but I’d like to try one, once.
  7. I have often threatened to run for office. I might, someday.
  8. I would like to learn how to hunt – yes, I read the Hunger Games, but I wanted to learn before that.
  9. Burlesque. Still want to try it.
  10. I rarely explore outside the Twin Cities, and I’m not familiar with that much of Minnesota. Perhaps pick a small town and drive to it on a weekend.
