Sound of Paper: Progress Report

This is part of my work in the Julia Cameron Artist’s Way series. The work this time is from the book the Sound of Paper. The responses are self-examinations and assessments based on work through a daily series of exercises. While I do keep some material offline as it can be very personal and jarring, I often opt to be fairly open about my experiences, both positive and negative.


How am I doing?

 

  • Sticking with the morning pages.
  • First day of Mercury Retrograde, heralded with lots of frustrating communications, and a lot of “no” to what I consider reasonable requests. Or at least, “nos” while citing Hierophant-inverted policies. Most forget, I am not afraid of the law as so many are. If you understand the law as a tool meant to serve you rather than as an authority to defy, suddenly life gets much easier. I am aware that this does not apply to everyone, but I am doing what I can to make it so it does. Also, music licensing? Not that expensive for small groups. That was an empowering thing to learn from a conversation intended to be disempowering. I’ve been treated in an unwarranted and unlikable way, and I’ve decided if its OK that I’m not likable as a result.
  • I am using the Riding the Dragon Sayable/Unsayable exercise a lot. I’m just really pissed off at how I’m being treated with a specific context where there would not be a problem if I had been treated fairly in the first place.

  • The book on divorce: in its 5th draft. I met someone last week who can help me spread it to a wider audience than just Pagans. Next step: to the beta readers. I hate that the term “beta reader” is now a routine part of professional writing lingo. It belongs in fanfic. Pros should use terms like “workshopping” or “review.”
  • My feeling of being overwhelmed: kept me from sleeping last night. I’m going to gradually work myself up to 12 hours of exercise a week, starting with short walks during the day, and then just making it a regular, repetitive thing. I used to go for multiple walks a day as a kid when escape conditions allowed for it. Why? The exercise makes it easier for me to handle all stress.
    Progress: setback last week from a sprained hamstring.
  • Working conditions: improving them. Getting a chair that won’t cause back problems, so I can hopefully get more done with fewer interruptions, and ideally over time have less to do.
  • Have I taken on too much, or is this something where I can get it started and then ease into a sustainable and hopefully health-building pattern?
