Riding the Dragon: Check-in Week 2

This is part of my work in the Julia Cameron Artist’s Way series. The work this time is from the book the Artist’s Way at Work: Riding the Dragon. The responses are self-examinations and assessments based on work through a daily series of exercises. While I do keep some material offline as it can be very personal and jarring, I often opt to be fairly open about my experiences, both positive and negative.

Reminder to self: you don’t have to do EVERY exercise.
1. Morning pages. I do them daily, have for going on four years now. They help. I used to call them “stashing my crazy” and there’s still an element of that, but now it’s more about identifying issues that need address for long-term happiness, and a wonderful new thing where I am becoming increasingly visionary. I didn’t think I had it in me, but I do – just not in the unconsciously restrictive manner that “visionary” is often defined.
2. It was Thanksgiving week, so I was unable to do a time-out. I am feeling the need for a good artist’s date or three. At the same time, I’m making a conscious effort to repair a damaged social life after letting positive friendships lapse and going through a flaky phase while grieving for my father. This takes time, keeping appointments, and going out of my way – and this reduces time for artist’s dates. Since I did have to reschedule one such meetup this week, that does leave me free to fill in the time with something purely for myself.
3. I did get in a walk yesterday; it’s getting colder so I’m just less inclined to do it, although I do have a new meditation app on my Droid that is for walking, that might be great to use while on the exercise room treadmill for 20-30 minutes a day. This is in addition to my gym time.

