Riding the Dragon: My Pessimist, My Optimist

This is part of my work in the Julia Cameron Artist’s Way series. The work this time is from the book the Artist’s Way at Work: Riding the Dragon. The responses are self-examinations and assessments based on work through a daily series of exercises. While I do keep some material offline as it can be very personal and jarring, I often opt to be fairly open about my experiences, both positive and negative.

My Optimist Says Change happens, and resistance to change is natural. What I’m doing harms no one and heals me, so I’ll keep going. I know what it takes to do a lot more projects now! It’s exciting! I am really having fun with the work I’m doing. I’m sure I can find support for these projects. I think self-publishing my zombie story will be a hoot! I’m laying track now that leads to income, and it’s increasing. I’m sure I can get to the point where I can pay other writers on my blog!
My Pessimist Says People are starting to interpret the work you do on artist’s way as “disturbed.” What if you miss your deadlines? You know people are going to criticize you. Fashion is shallow. You don’t really have any money of your own. How do you plan to pay for marketing efforts and other support?

I think I have my pessimist and my inner critic confused. I’m going to have to re-work this one later.

