Sense of Power: Detective Work

  1. My favorite childhood toy was a bean bag Snoopy. I remember other toys, and I don’t know if that was my particular favorite – my favorites changed over time, although I always maintained affection for a given toy’s predecessors. I was never monogamous in that respect.
  2. My favorite childhood game was Candyland. I loved the trippy little world it implied and the bright colors.
  3. The best movie I ever saw as a kid was Pump Up the Volume. It remains a favorite to this day, and one that I point to as one place where my adult ideals developed.
  4. I don’t do it much but I enjoy playing darts. Not watching darts – the British pasttime of televising something you could walk around the corner and do yourself confuses me beyond belief. But I do very much like walking around that corner and throwing a few.
  5. If I could lighten up a little, I’d let myself … I dunno. I’m pretty good with the humor. I guess I’d let myself go get a massage. Most of my hold-backs are about my finances, anyway.
  6. If it weren’t too late, I’d finish my graduate degree in a program actually appropriate for my mindset.
  7. My favorite musical instrument is the voice. I love the sensual experience of singing.
  8. The amount of money I spend treating myself to entertainment each month is around $100, although a good chunk of my “spending money” goes to food and natural medicines.
  9. If I weren’t so stingy with my artist, I’d buy her that magic tricks set I saw at the comic books store.
  10. Taking time out for myself is something that my body will sometimes outright demand, and the last year it’s been really hard to do.
  11. I am afraid that if I start dreaming, I’ll allow myself to become completely distracted by the wishes fulfilled in my head and not get another bit of work done.
  12. I secretly enjoy reading cigar magazines. This is not a metaphor.
  13. If I had had a perfect childhood, I’d have grown up to be an actress. An awkward, toddling actress – I was all leg there for awhile – but yes, I think that’s what I’d have been.
  14. If it didn’t sound so crazy…few things sound too crazy to me. I think, however, if it weren’t so out there, I’d go ahead and organize that theater tableau down the walking bridges that cross 35W.
  15. My parents think artists are important but only count if they do it for money and get it.
  16. My God thinks artists are priests enacting the continued role of creation out upon the earth.
  17. What makes me feel weird about this recovery is that I’ve done it before, yet obviously I need a revisit. The past 2-3 years did a lot more damage to me than I wanted to admit.
  18. Learning to trust myself is probably the hardest part about this whole process.
  19. My most cheer me up music is “The Dog Days are Over” by Florence and the Machine.
  20. My favorite way to dress is a comfy dress and leggings.
