Breaking My Fast

I function better with a good breakfast. I am less likely to binge by dinner – guaranteed if I skip breakfast – and it’s easier to skip the desserts/sweet tooth attack in the evening if I get myself something solid. I also get really, really weird without breakfast lining my stomach. I couldn’t tell you why.

But for me, if I can I prepare ahead. Sometimes this works, sometimes it doesn’t. I have one of those individualized blenders, so I’ll make smoothies ahead of time and have them waiting in the fridge, or boil eggs if I know I’m pressed for time. I do enjoy my morning bacon habit – we get fresh bacon from the Polish deli on Hennepin, which is great, and gives me that little boost of fat to keep the edge off fat cravings all day.

So yes, breakfast good – it’s the anchor to my day.

