My comfort foods

I want to say here that while I understand these exercises are about creating moderation, I find the moralistic approach disturbing. They key to handling this weight control stuff is to address the feelings – a food is neither good nor bad, regardless of calories, sodium or fat. Not everyone is a food addict. I would argue that it’s pretty rare, unless you want to argue that water equates with chemical dependency.

In any case, here’s my own comfort foods – and I am aware that I do actually binge. Overcoming the binge behaviors is a lifelong struggle.

  1. Chips and dip
  2. Cheese balls/puffs
  3. Ice cream
  4. Licorice
  5. Cheese

I am working to minimize my use of all of these. So far switching to farmer’s market food has helped a lot. Also, this weekend my husband and I went out and bought clear food storage containers; this way, when I go to the fridge I can see the range of healthy choices available to me and pick, rather than peering it, staring at various grocery-wrap bags and immediately reaching for the snack cupboard as a response.

