A new phase, a new book: Write Yourself Right Diet

I am admittedly skeptical about all diets. I am very overweight, but rarely if ever hindered by this, and have been so for more or less my entire life. I also have enjoyed some modest success due to starting the blog Fat Chic.

I did, however, commit to working through all of Julia Cameron’s works, and since I am now seeing myself work with deeper commitment than at any other point previous in my life, I believe that this merits at least a try. I already know much of my eating is emotional: all major events in life were and are met with food. All emotional extremes get fed. And it’s amazing how much I busy myself into inactivity.

Before I picked up the book I’ve already taken some small steps towards increased activity: I have a YWCA membership for the summer, so I’m hitting water aerobics at least twice a week and swimming whenever I can. I have genuine intentions towards the BodyFlow classes and water cycling, too. I am still in bellydance school, and I made sure I set aside money to continue after the card Mike bought me runs out. I also have money set aside from water aerobics twice a week at Community Ed this fall, and Joel says he’d like to do the walking club thing with me again this fall – which had surprising results the last time we did it.

I’ve already found bookending my day with journaling really helps, so writing continuous short entries as I eat meals or snacks will either get really annoying or prove helpful very fast. And while I don’t like the idea of associating food with “sin” and the idea of a “body buddy” makes me really uncomfortable, I think collaring myself when I’m looking in the fridge for entertainment is a really good idea.

I’m not sure how blogging this will go. I’m not giving any of my stats out: I’m a fat girl, and I live in my body just fine. But I do overeat and I am an emotional eater. Whether or not that affects my stats, breaking through any creative blocks clogged with food can only lead to good.

