Discovering a Sense of Authenticity: Points of Pride

25 Things I am Proud of:

  1. I am proud of standing up to the snob squad senior year of high school
  2. I am proud of finishing college, at least my bachelor’s
  3. I am proud that my business is still running, even on a shoelace
  4. I am proud that I have been published at least annually
  5. I am proud I confused that girl who tried to body shame me using 9/11 as her hook
  6. I am proud I told that guy who was hassling my employees at an old job to sod off
  7. I am proud I took my goods right out of that shoplifter’s hand
  8. I am proud of that pdf book I finished two years ago
  9. I am proud that I’ve started taking better care of myself emotionally
  10. I am proud that I have made the things about my life that are viewed by society as bad – my fatness and my involuntary psychism – and made them work for me
  11. I am proud that I worked up the nerve to do that poetry reading
  12. I am proud that I have stuck to doing morning pages
  13. I am proud that I’ve stayed on the artist’s way path this long
  14. I am proud that I have a (mostly) finished manuscript waiting for revisions
  15. I am very proud of my little garden
  16. I am proud of my studio
  17. I am proud of my home – it’s creative, unusual and spacious
  18. I am proud of my talents as an herbalist
  19. I am proud I got out of a bad relationship before it really went to hell
  20. I am proud of my carefully assembled wardrobe
  21. I am proud of my willingness to try new things
  22. I am proud of my rarefied and effective research skills
  23. I am proud of how I’m letting go of physical objects in favor of physical space
  24. I am proud of how much I’ve traveled
  25. I am proud that I still seek out new education and intellectual pursuits
