Kingdom of Attitude: Getting Current

100709 022
this is from an artist's date I went on about "Precious Objects"
  • If I let myself admit it, I feel pressured.
  • If I let myself admit it, I think the wedding will be fine but I want to protect myself from previous crap. My family thinks they’re not accountable for the past, and that’s not only hypocritical, it’s also reasoning popular with criminals on death row.
  • If I let myself know it, I suspect some people really are jealous of me and that’s why “oversights” happen. I know, “never attribute to malice…” but that’s dismissive and rude in and of itself. There’s a real problem here with some local attitudes I’m encountering. Not among friends, but among colleagues in the local craft community.
  • If I let myself enjoy it, I am really starting to taste some real success by getting my personal message through to people who might not otherwise receive them.
2 thoughts on “Kingdom of Attitude: Getting Current”

  1. You do make me laugh sometimes with your wry sense of humor…

    “My family thinks they’re not accountable for the past, and that’s not only hypocritical, it’s also reasoning popular with criminals on death row.”

    Awesome that you can see it that clearly and still display humor as you recount it. My family knows they’re responsible for some things, which means those topics are absolutely taboo and we all act as if they don’t exist and never did. I can’t decide whether recognition and avoidance and “play pretend” is better than stubborn, willful blindness. Maybe so. We did go to family therapy a couple of decades ago, and that made us see some things we’d rather not. I’m guessing your family would rather die before going to the therapist…

  2. My family tried therapy once. The therapist actually gave up on us because my sister had figured out that she could dominate the family by remaining intractable and it became clear my parents were punishing me for anything I brought up in therapy they didn’t want me talking about.

Comments are closed.