Riding the Dragon: Check-in Week 12

This is part of my work in the Julia Cameron Artist’s Way series. The work this time is from the book the Artist’s Way at Work: Riding the Dragon. The responses are self-examinations and assessments based on work through a daily series of exercises. While I do keep some material offline as it can be very personal and jarring, I often opt to be fairly open about my experiences, both positive and negative.

Final week on Riding the Dragon. The next book on deck: the Sound of Paper.

1. I don’t need to recommit to morning pages, I’m pretty well committed to them now. They help. I think they’re doing nothing, then I skip a few days, and I realize how very much they actually do. I suspect using a neti pot may be quite similar in some ways.

2. Time-outs do need some re-commitment. Part of my issue is just that I run out of energy and don’t want to do that, yet doing the time out recharges me. This week I went to the Mirror Maze for a time-out. It left me questioning reality in significant ways, and was worth the trip – and the Crowd Cut coupon. These photography walks, visits to new shops alone, the act of seeking new experiences - it all builds up a reserve I can draw from.

3. I have noticed synchronicity. It’s not always a synchronicity of opportunity – sometimes it’s a synchronicity of affirmation. I’d say the affirmation happens far more often than the opportunity type, perhaps because at this point it’s what I need more.

4. Oh, I intend to celebrate. :)

