Riding the Dragon: a letter from my inner mentor

This is part of my work in the Julia Cameron Artist’s Way series. The work this time is from the book the Artist’s Way at Work: Riding the Dragon. The responses are self-examinations and assessments based on work through a daily series of exercises. While I do keep some material offline as it can be very personal and jarring, I often opt to be fairly open about my experiences, both positive and negative.

This is a letter from my inner mentor, to myself.

Dear Diana,
You are trying to do two things at once. Three was too much, but you can manage two, especially as they’re all part of the same spectrum and many other writers are in your boat. You have a passion to pursue, and you have something you’re also passionate about that is a bit more saleable. These are all good things. You do need to work longer. It’s just at that time now. Getting up earlier will help, but you do need to put more hours in. Try putting in an hour a day on your social networks.

Maybe put in an extra hour of writing at night, and save TV time for the weekends. I know this is hard for you, but of anyone, you can do this. Don’t curb your social time – you need it more than you know. I think your formula of seeing different friends once a month is effective. You do need to find or start a writer’s group. It all seems like a lot and it is, but you need this now. You and Mike will have to work out doing the laundry and getting the house cleaned some other way, because right now you’re both buried in projects. Sometimes life gets messy. It’s not like you don’t know how to clean up.

Get out, write out, be out. I know you hate Diamond’s Coffee shop, but it’s what’s close so you may need to befriend it. Or go back to hanging at Espresso Royale. Writing should come in an easy flow, and it should be your flow.

You know what to do.

Love,

Your Inner Mentor, the Priestess

