Riding the Dragon: Check-in Week 11

This is part of my work in the Julia Cameron Artist’s Way series. The work this time is from the book the Artist’s Way at Work: Riding the Dragon. The responses are self-examinations and assessments based on work through a daily series of exercises. While I do keep some material offline as it can be very personal and jarring, I often opt to be fairly open about my experiences, both positive and negative.

1. Morning pages are in place. I skip them twice a week give/take – I think that the damage is permanent on that one, alas, since my partner read them and reacted rather severely. I just don’t think he has a right to ALL of me, and I never will think so. Especially when I know there’s stuff of his own he stonewalls me on, as he learned to do from his family. The double standard offends me; I had enough of that bullshit growing up. So I do write them daily, but I tend not to write them when he’s home with me.

2. Time-outs/artist’s dates. I had a really good artist’s date last week, but this week I’ve managed to catch two different bugs in the course of the week, thus eliminating the possibility until I recover. As it is, I may just knock myself out in hopes the cold resolves itself while I’m sleeping.

3. I’m not sure I’ve seen synchronicity per se; I am seeing patterns emerging with friends that suggest it’s time for me to take a break of a week or two while I get caught up on things.

