Riding the Dragon: 10 Activities that Ground and Comfort

This is part of my work in the Julia Cameron Artist’s Way series. The work this time is from the book the Artist’s Way at Work: Riding the Dragon. The responses are self-examinations and assessments based on work through a daily series of exercises. While I do keep some material offline as it can be very personal and jarring, I often opt to be fairly open about my experiences, both positive and negative.

Small things that bring me back to reality when stuff gets surreal.

Tomato and spinach cup pies

  1. Clearing the dishwasher
  2. Baking (gets a touch double-edged.)
  3. Decluttering/cleaning closets/clearing space
  4. Decoupaging shipping boxes and product bottles
  5. Gardening
  6. Sex
  7. Sketching
  8. Going for a walk
  9. Talking to a friend I really trust
  10. Journaling/blogging