Riding the Dragon: 5 areas where I could use career guidance

This is part of my work in the Julia Cameron Artist’s Way series. The work this time is from the book the Artist’s Way at Work: Riding the Dragon. The responses are self-examinations and assessments based on work through a daily series of exercises. While I do keep some material offline as it can be very personal and jarring, I often opt to be fairly open about my experiences, both positive and negative.

  1. Book marketing - I definitely need some kind of help with that.
  2. Editing/proofing my own work. While I think I’m fine for the project I’m stepping up to, I’m still a bit damaged from my experience with the last corporation I worked for, and I may be dealing with editors that also mythologize writing and thus treat me project with less respect than it merits.
  3. Time management and productivity. This is something we can ALL use help with, all the time. I’ve leveled up, but there’s more to do.
  4. Subject line writing, for emails and blog posts. I need to get better at creating clickable titles.
  5. Integration. I’ve shut down the perfumery for now, but I don’t want to drop it – I just think it needs to be different from what I was doing.
051811 035
Minnehaha Falls - photo by Diana Rajchel

If I had to pick ONE thing to work on right now, it would be the time management. I have a lot of balls going for specific reasons, and I don’t want to drop ANY.