Riding the Dragon: 10 Things I’d like to try (but…)

This is part of my work in the Julia Cameron Artist’s Way series. The work this time is from the book the Artist’s Way at Work: Riding the Dragon. The responses are self-examinations and assessments based on work through a daily series of exercises. While I do keep some material offline as it can be very personal and jarring, I often opt to be fairly open about my experiences, both positive and negative.

Wandering the Latin Quarter

For this exercise, I’m to list 10 things I’d like to try “but I’m too old.” I’m not terribly anchored in the elderly – thanks to Botox, Retinol, and cultural denial, I apparently get to live through my twenties twice at the ripe age of 36, and judging from the reaction of my mother’s cronies at my father’s funeral, I’m even a candidate for a second adolescence! Opting for the “teen runaway” section, as a 36 year old with a growing career, no addiction problems and a good relationship will, I’m doing quite well in this adolescent rebellion.

That said, there are several “I really want to do this BUT” and the but usually = $$$$$. Sometimes it also involves my partner objecting to my absence.
1. Aikido – I really want to take Aikido classes. I’m actually stashing back money for a course to start when I turn 40.
2. Writer’s retreat in New Orleans.
3. Teach English abroad, preferably in western Europe.
4. Drive to Canada, just because.
5. Go to that hoodoo/conjure conference in New Orleans.
6. Go to the Full Figured fashion shows in Vegas and elsewhere.
7. Submit a play to the Fringe Festival.
8. Get official tarot certification.
9. Get herbalist certification.
10. Finish off my MFA, or get an MA in sociology. I really want to do that latter one more.

