Riding the Dragon: Body English

This is part of my work in the Julia Cameron Artist’s Way series. The work this time is from the book the Artist’s Way at Work: Riding the Dragon. The responses are self-examinations and assessments based on work through a daily series of exercises. While I do keep some material offline as it can be very personal and jarring, I often opt to be fairly open about my experiences, both positive and negative.

So I went through the exercise Cameron recommends where you consciously relax your body, and then see what it has to tell you. What it told me is “I really just want to do ONE thing,” in reference to my career projects. I’m not sure that’s really feasible, since I’ve made a commitment to a book contract. Path of least resistance/most profit/equal annoyances is Fat Chic, but as the only thing I do it leads to burnout. On the other hand, I’m feeling overextended with the book project and the things I have to do to raise my name and profile. Perhaps if I think of them as all one thing – but even then, there are limits. I partially blame the care that has to go into using social networking in a manner both intelligent and constructive. I’m also fulfilling a dream for my twenty year old self. After it’s done, my thirty something can have her turn.

As to other movement – I’ve been invited to try laughter yoga, which I may do if I can’t go back to water aerobics because of the stupid rash on my arm. Hopefully the doctor today can figure it out.

