Riding the Dragon: Check-in Week 5

This is part of my work in the Julia Cameron Artist’s Way series. The work this time is from the book the Artist’s Way at Work: Riding the Dragon. The responses are self-examinations and assessments based on work through a daily series of exercises. While I do keep some material offline as it can be very personal and jarring, I often opt to be fairly open about my experiences, both positive and negative.

1. Yes, I am very consistent with the morning pages. Less so on days when my partner is working from home/around – I tend to use 750Words.com on those days. I just wish they’d let you turn off some of the “reward” features as it often seems like punishment that goes against the intention that morning pages serve. I feel better when I journal a lot; I’m considering taking up more journaling/sketching in the evening again.
2. I still have some financial bugaboos related to setting myself impossible standards while young. I am finally at an age where I can see direct results of my hard work, however, and that makes it a lot easier on me.
3. Benevolent synchronicity: I can’t say I have noticed a change in that respect recently. I’ve certainly encountered people who wish to interact more, for whatever that’s worth.
4. I indulged myself in a lovely day at the museum, complete with lunch at the museum’s restaurant. it was quite nice.

